Knowledge Transfer Strategy for the Łukasiewicz Research Network is under development

In recent years, the Polish research and development sector has experienced significant positive changes. The stable growth of the Polish economy, high human resources potential, a growing number of research centres, and several tax support reforms for R&D activities make Poland an object of interest for foreign investors.

The Łukasiewicz Research Network, the largest network of this type in Poland and the third in Europe, which has been working for entrepreneurship and supporting the development of Polish companies since 2019, makes a significant contribution to the development of the national research and development ecosystem. Łukasiewicz’s activities aim to bring science closer to business and increase the transfer of innovative technologies to the Polish economy.

Since November 2020, EPRD has been working on developing the Knowledge Transfer Strategy for the network in cooperation with foreign partners. The 1KTS4Lukasiewicz project aims to remove bottlenecks in the Polish research and innovation ecosystem using the developed strategies, tools, and mechanisms to fill the gap between science and business at the national level and improve Poland’s competitiveness by comparison with other European Union countries.

Currently, the team is finalising a report describing the needs and weaknesses in knowledge transfer at the Network Institutes and among other Polish research and innovation stakeholders. It also presents the best EU practices in knowledge transfer strategies relevant to the Polish context. Selected case studies demonstrate the activities of seven organisations whose institutional and organizational structure is similar to the Network: VTT (Finland), FRAUNHOFER (Germany), TECNALIA (Spain), AIT (Austria), TNO (Netherlands), SFI (Ireland), and INESC TEC (Portugal).

At this stage, EPRD has consulted the Network Institutes and other Polish stakeholders operating in the R&D sector. EPRD consulted 25 people working in 19 institutes of the Network and eight representatives of other organisations, including the Ministry of Development, Labour and Technology, Ministry of Science and Education, the National Centre for Research and Development, and the Polish Association of Technology Transfer Centres.

Share this page: